Lee's Summit R-7 School District

Mental Health Supports

LSR7 provides a variety of social, emotional, and career-readiness supports in order to help each student achieve success in life. Learn more about each of these positions below.


What is a School Counselor?

The role of a counselor in the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District is to implement the Missouri Comprehensive School Counseling Program through:


    • Helping students develop career/life skills
    • Supporting student academic achievement
    • Providing individual and group counseling to students
    • Providing support during crises
    • Working with parents, teachers, support staff, and community


For specific programs and contact information for the school your student attends, please contact their school or visit their counseling program website.

What is an Educational Therapist?


The LSR-7 Educational Therapist is responsible for assisting families and schools for better success. This can be done by linking students and families with resources, and coordinating services in the community and eliminating possible barriers to the learning process. Strong collaboration with administrators, counselors, school social workers, therapists in the district, and community organizations is critical. Each Educational Therapist will serve a high school feeder system. This organizational alignment assists the Educational Therapist in working with families with multiple children at different school levels.




School School Counselors Educational Therapists
Lee’s Summit High School
LSHS Counseling Website
Kristin Little
Chris Homan
Connie Ficken
Sally Sabata
Ashley Ekochu
Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Lee’s Summit North High School
LSN Counseling Website
Rebecca Steele
Robin Gray
Laura Hillbrand
Shelley McCain
Paige Murray
LaShandra Shepherd,
Tina Rambo-Faulkner,
Lee’s Summit West High School
LSW Counseling Website
Kristi Gregory
April Marquez
Greg Swaggart
Erin Barnett
Kerry Stites
Christine Cross,
Summit Ridge Academy
SRA Counseling Website
Jennifer Ailshire
Angela Martin
New Counselor
Damian Moses,
Bernard Campbell Middle School
BCMS Counseling Website
Colleen Schieber
Sheryl Fender
New Counselor
LaShandra Shepherd,
Pleasant Lea Middle School
PLMS Counseling Website
Angela Martin
Jennifer Montgomery
New Counselor
Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Summit Lakes Middle School
SLMS Counseling Website
Toni Drecktrah
Sara Mayes
New Counselor
Christine Cross,
Cedar Creek Elementary
CCE Counseling Website
Tricia Kauffman Christine Cross,
Greenwood Elementary
GWE Counseling Website
Mindi Jones Christine Cross,
Hawthorn Hill Elementary
HHE Counseling Website
Tracy Morris Christine Cross,
Hazel Grove Elementary
HGE Counseling Website
Pam Brady LaShandra Shepherd,
Highland Park Elementary
HPE Counseling Website
Nicole Gilbert Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Lee’s Summit Elementary
LSE Counseling Website
Daphne Mack Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Longview Farm Elementary
LFE Counseling Website
Cara Gruhala Christine Cross,
Mason Elementary
MAE Counseling Website
Kriti Mann LaShandra Shepherd,
Meadow Lane Elementary
MLE Counseling Website
Deanna Walter
Lisa Hayden
LaShandra Shepherd,
Pleasant Lea Elementary
PLE Counseling Website
Thana Lankford Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Prairie View Elementary
PVE Counseling Website
Andria Duello
Erica VanNess
Lisa Hayden
Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Richardson Elementary
RHE Counseling Website
Casey Blakemore
Rebekah Schreckenghaust
LaShandra Shepherd,
Summit Pointe Elementary
SPE Counseling Website
Alicia Finn
New Counselor
Christine Cross,
Sunset Valley Elementary
SVE Counseling Website
Jodi Mahurin Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Trailridge Elementary
TRE Counseling Website
Kadi Kneib Christine Cross,
Underwood Elementary
UWE Counseling Website
Kristin Smith LaShandra Shepherd,
Westview Elementary
WVE Counseling Website
Kristie DeSelms LaShandra Shepherd,
Woodland Elementary
WLE Counseling Website
Jessica Armstrong Stephanie VanDenBorn,
Great Beginnings Early Childhood MaryBeth Panek,
Jennifer Allen,



In accordance with the provisions of the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (as amended), Title IX of the Educational Amendments of 1972, P.L. 93-112, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the regulations thereunder, it is the policy of the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District that no person shall, because of age, sex, race, disability, or national origin be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or subjected to discrimination under any education program or activity of the District, including the employment of staff personnel. Written district policies concerning the rights and responsibilities of employees and students are available for inspection at the Stansberry Leadership Center (R-7 Administrative Offices), located at 301 NE Tudor. Inquiries by persons about their protection against discrimination under The Americans With Disabilities Act, Title IX, Title VI, or P.L. 93-112 and the Section 504 may be directed in writing or by telephone to: Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Lee’s Summit R-7 School District 301 NE Tudor Road Lee’s Summit, MO 64086 (816) 986-1000