Lee's Summit R-7 School District

LSR7 Posts

Lee’s Summit R-7 Board of Education receives Missouri School Boards’ Association award

The Lee’s Summit R-7 School District recently won the 2018 Missouri Outstanding Boards of Education Award from the Missouri School Boards’ Association (MSBA). The R-7 School District Board was presented with the award at the MSBA annual Leadership Summit on June 2.

The R-7 Board of Education’s award is in the category of governance, leadership and accountability. Winners in the respective category were selected by the MSBA Leadership Development Committee. This is the second time the local Board of Education has been recognized by the MSBA with Lee’s Summit R-7 earning the Outstanding Boards of Education Award in 2015 for financial resources.

The 2018 MSBA awards were presented to 20 school boards in six categories.  

To qualify for the Outstanding Boards of Education Award, school districts were required to submit a comprehensive application. The governance, leadership and accountability category focused on these areas: strategic planning development, implementation and monitoring; accountability; and collaboration.

The Missouri School Boards’ Association is a private, not-for-profit organization that exists to help school boards succeed.

Pictured at the MSBA Leadership Summit are (from left) Jackie Clark, Lee’s Summit R-7 Board of Education vice president; Melissa Randol, MSBA executive director; Dennis Smith, R-7 Board member; Phyllis Balagna, R-7 Board president; and Kim Fritchie, R-7 Board member.