Lee's Summit R-7 School District

LSR7 Posts

Lee’s Summit R-7 joins metro-area Degree in 3 program

Lee’s Summit R-7 School District was among 10 organizations recently celebrating the launch of Degree in 3, a new accelerated path to a bachelor’s degree. At the June 12 signing ceremony, area school districts and community colleges joined the University of Kansas to formalize the program at the KU Edwards Campus in Overland Park, Kan.

Degree in 3 enables students from participating schools to earn a bachelor’s degree from an R1 research university in only three years. The new partnership potentially reduces students’ cost of earning a degree and accelerates their entrance into the metropolitan area workforce or graduate school.

Summit Technology Academy, a Lee’s Summit R-7 school, is among the Degree in 3 partner institutions. Other partners include the University of Kansas Edwards Campus, Metropolitan Community College, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Johnson County Community College and five other metro-area high-school programs.  

Students earn college credits in high school, complete an associate degree one year after graduating and complete an Edwards Campus bachelor’s degree two years later. Degree in 3 also gives Missouri students access to KU Edwards Campus MetroRate.

“The opportunity for students to be part of the KU Degree in 3 program will positively change the trajectory of students’ college and career path,” said Dr. Elaine Metcalf, principal of Summit Technology Academy. “Any time education institutions come together to figure out a plan that leads to degree completion and less college debt is a win-win situation. Summit Technology Academy is glad to be named among the six K-12 schools in this outstanding partnership.”

For more information about Degree in 3, visit the KU webpage.

Pictured at the signing are (from left) Dr. Kenny Southwick, interim superintendent, Shawnee Mission School District; Dr. Cheryl Reichert, director, Raytown Quality Schools; Dr. Jessica Dain, assistant superintendent, Olathe Public Schools; Dr. Dennis L. Carpenter, superintendent, Lee’s Summit R-7 School District; Dr Cynthia Lane, superintendent, Kansas City Kansas Public Schools; Dr. Todd White, superintendent, Blue Valley Schools; Dr. Kimberly Beatty, chancellor, Metropolitan Community College; Dr. Greg Mosier, president, Kansas City Kansas Community College; Dr. Joe Sopcich, president, Johnson County Community College; and Dr. David Cook, vice chancellor, University of Kansas Edwards Campus. –Photo by Lindy Rhodes